Fall Pumpkin Dip

Image

I love fall. I love the colors, the spice, drinking hot drinks, crisp weather… Fall is the last bit of color before the trees bare and snow falls. Here in Pennsylvania, fall is dragging on and on. The trees glow with more colors than I remember from last year.

And then the food…spicy pumpkin pie and spicy chai lattes. And in this case a spicy pumpkin dip.

Image

A friend and I abandoned homework and escaped to town. We stopped at a fruit market and chose the perfect pumpkin to contain the dip. Inside we picked out crisp Gala apples and mellow pears. At the grocery store, we found gingersnaps to finish the snack.

At home I sawed into the pumpkin, carefully removing the top for a lid, scooping out the seeds and strings, and chopping out as much of the flesh as I could. I needed 2 cups of pumpkin puree. The easiest way to make your own pumpkin puree is to chop the pumpkin in half, cover both sides with foil, and bake at 350 degrees for thirty minutes. I chose the complicated method of cutting into the side and pulling out what I could. Thankfully pumpkin is fibrous, so it pulled out nicely. I put the pumpkin in a dish and baked it at 350 for 20 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I threw that and one cup of squash into the blender, added 8 ounces cream cheese, ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon, and brown sugar. It was yummy! Then I dumped it back into the pumpkin. It made me smile. I love when something fits so well. It was just delightfully earthy and the perfect stress reliever after a busy week and crazy tests. Plus it made other people happy.

Image

{Fall Pumpkin Dip} from Tasty Kitchen

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 cup light brown sugar – I changed it to 1/2 cup and it felt really healthy. The girls never knew I changed it. πŸ™‚
  • ΒΎ teaspoons ground ginger
  • Β½ teaspoons ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 15 ounces pumpkin puree (1 can)

In a food processor (or in a bowl by hand), pulse the cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar and spices and blend well.

Empty cream cheese mixture into a bowl, add the pumpkin puree, and mix well.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

3 thoughts on “Fall Pumpkin Dip

  1. Okay, now you’ve kept me up later than, well, later than I would have been otherwise! but I’ve had quite an enjoyable time checking out this blog. My you all are creative, I’m not so much and don’t have to much time to work at it these days, but do keep up the good work. It is so neat!

  2. Hey, so happy to find this blog! I love your creative ideas and simple ways of decorating! I think of you sometimes and wonder how FB is going for you πŸ™‚ I miss doing projects with you… Marilyn (from summer term)

Leave a Reply

