Mug Shots

If you haunt Pinterest or DIY blogs, I’m sure you’ve seen this project. I was first introduced to it when one of my  roommates started personalizing dishes using a Sharpie paint pen and dollar store plates. Seeing her lovely artwork on our bookshelf inspired me to try it for myself, especially when I learned that baking the dishes made them usable.

A week before a friend’s wedding, I realized that I still needed a gift. Giving is one of my favorite things to do. I love imagining the perfect present for an individual…and then making it.

Unfortunately, this process involves a lot of questions. At some point I’m almost certain that the person will wonder what Hannah was thinking when she made this. And of course there’s always the chance that it will flop. But in the end, I usually reassure myself and can give it without my knees shaking. 🙂 Actually, that’s probably why I love to give. I know what I’m giving is part of myself, so even though it’s a bit terrifying, it’s also fulfilling. Besides, I know it’s highly unlikely that someone else will give the same gift.

When I bought these mugs from Dollar Tree they were not married. I printed Mr. and Mrs. in the font and size I wanted and cut out the printed part to make a stencil. I almost did them freehand, but I the curve of the mug made me nervous. Even with a stencil it was hard to get it straight.

After filling in the letters, I baked them for half an hour at 350 degrees. I ended up giving them a second coat and baking them again because the fat parts of the letters weren’t black enough the first time.

Since making these, I’ve learned that oil-based Sharpies work better. After the 14-hour drive to the wedding, these mugs did show signs of wear, much to my disappointment. Next time I’ll try oil-based Sharpies instead of the normal kind.

I love the versatility of this project. I hope you try it, too!

One thought on “Mug Shots

Leave a Reply

