{10 for 10}

One of my favorite things is to make and serve attractive food. Since I’m in college and living on campus, it’s hard to find the time, space, and ingredients for much cooking. Coffee drinks have become my way around that difficulty. I have a list of ten ingredients and over the next few weeks I’ll share recipes for ten different drinks made with the following  ingredients: milk, sugar, coffee, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, caramel syrup, vanilla extract, peppermint extract, chocolate chips, and white chocolate chips.

This week I’ll share a recipe for peppermint mocha and a really creamy hot chocolate.

Peppermint Mocha

Ingredients:

3/4 cup freshly brewed coffee
1/2 ounce semisweet baking chocolate
1/4 cup milk (already heated)
1/8 teaspoon peppermint extract

Directions:

Pour coffee into large saucepan. Add chocolate; cook on low heat 5 minute or until chocolate is melted, stirring occasionally. Add milk and extract; stir until well blended. Pour into mug and top with whipped cream.

French Press Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

10 oz good quality dark or bittersweet chocolate, cut in rough chunks
1 cup (8 oz) milk
leftover vanilla bean pods (optional)
1/4 tsp espresso powder (optional)

Directions:

Put the chocolate in the bowl of a food processor.  Make sure the bowl is completely dry.  Process until the chocolate is finely ground.   You want a coarse granular texture.  Stop if the chocolate starts to clump together and release its oil.

Let the chocolate dry at room temperature for several hours.  Then process again briefly.  The chocolate will have lightened in color. Store the chocolate in a mason type jar with a tight fitting lid.  If you are using the vanilla bean pods, layer them in as you fill the jar.

Put 4 Tbsp of the chocolate powder in the bottom of the French press.   Add in the espresso powder, if using. 

Put the milk in a quart sized Pyrex measuring cup. Microwave for 2-3 minutes, until it just comes to a boil. You can do this on the stove if you want to. Pour the scalding hot milk over the chocolate and put the plunger top on the pot, but don’t depress it yet.

Let the milk sit for 2 minutes. Then plunge vigorously for 1 minute to froth the hot chocolate.  It will increase in volume. Pour into 1 large or 2 small cups and enjoy!

That’s all for now. Vanilla steamer and cinnamon dulce latte coming up next!

5 thoughts on “{10 for 10}

  1. I love coffee drinks and am excited about these posts! One question, where do you find espresso powder? I’ve looked for it but have had no success. Obviously I could probably order it from Amazon but I was hoping to get it locally.

    • Oops, my copy and paste caught up with me. When I made it I used only chocolate and milk. I didn’t try it with coffee. If I added coffee I think I’d just add a shot of espresso. That’s all the help I can give you, sorry.

    • Did you check Wal-Mart or any supermarket? I’m sure it’s not that hard to find. I think I bought it once upon a time.

  2. Yum! I’d like to be your guest! I look forward to seeing the rest of the coffee drinks you created. I never thought of using my French Press to froth a hot drink – I like ideas that give multiple uses for one gadget.

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

