Customized journals

I’ve been teaching the Wednesday evening class at our church for the past several months. It’s a half hour class that I teach while the adults have prayer meeting. There are only two students and I’ve really been enjoying our little group!

There are several goals that I have for this class. They are habits that I want to cultivate in my own life and I’m hoping my students will too. The habits I’m focusing on are gratitude, encouraging others, prayer, and Bible reading. These journals are part of that plan.

This little project ended up being a lot simpler than my original plan. I was planning to make the journals, but my attempt proved that it would be much more efficient to go to the dollar store and pick up these nice journals and customize them. All I had to do to get what I was looking for was to add labels to divide the journal into four sections. So that is what I did and I’m quite happy with the results!

I used this old typewriter to make the labels for the dividers. I’ve been using it quite a bit for random projects like this and just love how the text is indented.





After typing the labels I cut them apart, folded them over and rounded the corners. Then I slipped the journal page between the folded label and sewed it on.

It’s a quick and easy way to get a customized journal with a handmade look.

5 thoughts on “Customized journals

  1. Girls I love this idea! Really, I love all your ideas but this is one I want to tuck away for future use. πŸ™‚ And the drink recipes these last few weeks were wonderful too! I love how you take amazing photos of all your diy’s. Makes them look like so much fun! πŸ™‚

  2. Loved visiting and seeing the photos and your words for Wise Words Texture Tuesday. Great idea for your teaching class. I use to teach Sunday School and the littlekins were so fun and wiser sometimes than me. πŸ™‚

  3. This is clever and so down to earth — love the idea and that typewriter is a treasure.. Coming from TT and your image is priceless..
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

