Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Hello. It’s been a while, but I (Hannah) am home from school for the summer so we hope to bring you inspiration–as we are inspired to create and then post, of course. 🙂 Right now I have a strawberry rhubarb pie recipe for you.

This pie combines two flavors I love but rarely try together.

During choir tour, my roommate and I were comparing our mental lists of food we wanted to make once we could cook at home again. She mentioned this pie–she made it last year and wanted to make it again.

Well, I  love to try new recipes and food combinations. So I made it. As usual, I baked and Keturah took pictures. 

Patches found us on the front porch again. Don’t worry. He did not sample any of the pie.

It’s best to refrigerate it overnight. The filling thickens as it cools, but it still ran out as soon as we cut the pie.

I forgot to add the chunks of butter under the top crust. I’m not sure how that would have changed the flavor. I guess you can try it and see what you think.

Here’s a recipe card….

This recipe comes from The Baker Chick.

Come back in the next few weeks (or months) to see an idea for a personalized wedding gift and a recipe for lemon meringue cupcakes. I really want to try making sun dried tomatoes and using them in hummus. If I do you’ll get to see the process. 🙂 I also hope to post the progress of a vintagey Alice in Wonderland tea party I’m planning for two of my aunts and a few of their friends. The party is still in the idea stage…I guess we’ll all see where we end up. 🙂 And if you have any summery recipes you want to see pictures of–either favorites or something new–let me know. I might help you out. I’d love to hear from you either way.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Leave a Reply

