{Lemon Meringue Cupcakes}

This is one of those posts that comes straight from Pinterest. I saw these cupcakes pop up a few times and decided to try them!

Of course, I couldn’t copy directly–I think it’s a matter of principle–so I made mini cupcakes. I made some big ones, too, because I was too lazy to spend all afternoon filling bite size cakes with lemon curd. I was forced to hollow out a spot for the lemon curd because the decorating tip I have to fill cupcakes is in my dorm at school. It’s a pain to live in two places. . . .

I cut cone shaped pieces out of the middle. I felt like I was throwing away a lot of cake, but I even more filling would have been better!

Ingredients

Cupcakes
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter, room temperature
1 large egg, room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup buttermilk

Lemon curd 

Freshly squeezed juice and zest of 2 lemons
2 eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar (100g)
Pinch of salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, diced

Meringue 
3 large egg whites
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
6 tablespoons sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 F. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Combine the cake flour blend, salt, baking powder, sugar, butter, vanilla, egg, buttery sweet dough flavor baking soda and 1/3 of buttermilk in the bowl of mixer. Mix on med. speed for 2 min until smooth. Add the left 1/3 cup buttermilk in the mixture and mix again on med. speed for a minute. Pour the mixture in the muffin tin until 2/3 full. Bake for about 15 min. When ready transfer to a rack and let them cool. Make the lemon curd according to instructions and set aside. When the cupcakes cool, use a cupcake corer and make a small space in the middle of each one. Fill all with the cooled lemon curd.

Lemon Curd

In a stainless mixing bowl, add in the eggs and sugar and cream together until white. Add in lemon juice, lemon zest, and salt. Whisk until combined. Over simmering water, cook slowly until lightly thickened. Stir constantly. As the eggs are cooked, the mixture turns into light yellow. Remove from heat, add in diced butter. Stir until combined. It should be light yellow and coat the back of a spoon. It thickens as it cools.

Meringue

Beat or cream of tartar and the egg whites in a bowl. Add the salt, then the sugar,  raise the speed and beat until smooth. Top the cupcakes with the meringue and broil until brown.

Yield: 12 cupcakes.

Thanks for stopping by. Invitations to the Alice in Wonderland tea coming up next!

2 thoughts on “{Lemon Meringue Cupcakes}

  1. I don’t dare look at the recipe, because I love Lemon and oh my Lemon curd is one of my favorites. I had a hard time getting through your images without wanting to go make some. I am trying to avoid sweets and this is not helping. I love the composition on that last shot.

Leave a Reply

