Rose Hip & Apple Jelly Flop

A few weeks ago I headed out with my camera and a book. My objective was to get out of the building. I imagined myself finding a quiet spot to read and you never know when a photo opportunity will show up. Well, instead of heading down the road, I ended up across the hill, glorying in the warm, golden evening light. As I walked along the edge of the woods, I got distracted by red berries on a bush further back in the woods.

After gathering many branches as I could hold, and shooting some pictures, I headed back to my room to redecorate my curtain rod.

I was pretty sure I had gathered rose hips. My hunch was right. The ones I picked are the fruit of dog roses. In my search, I discovered that rose hips can be used to make things. My friend Carol, who is much more adventurous in outdoor exploration than I am, thought this was a great idea. Thus began the journey of rose hip and apple jelly.

We took a break from homework one Saturday to pick rose hips and wild apples. After sorting the fruit, we threw it into a pot, added water, and started cooking.

One unfortunate event nearly ended our project. I came back after supper and realized that the water had evaporated and the fruit was scorching. We were both really disappointed, but we decided to clean out the pan and add new water since we’d done so much work already.

Later that night I drained the juice to find a total of 1/2 cup. That was much smaller amount than we had planned, but so be it. A week went by before we found a few minutes of free time to cook the juice.

I added sugar and we took turns stirring for a few minutes.The apples had natural pectin, but I was still surprised to see it thicken after only a few minutes. The finished, cooled product was really thick. It has a very unique flavor. The first flavor I taste is apple, followed by something tart–I’m going to say citrusy because that’s the flavor rose hips are supposed to have.

No recipe this time because we’re not sure how we did it. 🙂 The adventure was worth it, even if the finished product turned out differently than we had planned.

2 thoughts on “Rose Hip & Apple Jelly Flop

Leave a Reply

